Writing is a peculiar occupation. Most of us have heard that writers of fiction often find that, in spite of any planning, their characters take on a life of their own, sending the story in a different direction.
Strangely it seems that a similar thing can happen when writing non-fiction, not with characters perhaps, but with a spin-off or two.
I’ve been researching for an article I’m writing; when I started the process of writing, I found several off-shoots springing out. Now I should have at least two articles, for different markets, and maybe more. It’s a pleasing result, although I still have a long way to go.

4 thoughts on “An Odd Occupation

  1. I find that if I’m exploring any new subject for fiction or non-fiction, one idea will quickly grow into two – or ten! Coming up with all the alternative angles is the fun part, deciding which one(s) to turn into finished pieces is often harder.

Leave a Reply

